top of page

Learn More About Our Executive Board Members


Thabo Thamane

Chair of the Executive Board

Thabo is the CEO of the Citizen Entrepreneurial Development Agency (CEDA), Gaborone and has served as a member of the Association of African Development Finance Institutions (AADFI), including as its Chairman. He is Chairman of the Board of Directors at Norsad Finance Limited and sits on the Board of the Botswana Tourism Organisation.


Steven Bogatsu

Member of the Executive Board

Mr. Bogatsu has served since 2015 as the Chief Executive Officer of First National Bank of Botswana and is active in civic affairs. A chartered accountant and a graduate of University of Derby, UK, he has worked in the banking sector holding various positions in Swaziland and Botswana. 


Thuto Moyei

Honorary Treasurer of The Botswana Society

Thuto is an Auditor at Price Waterhouse Coopers (PWC) and previously as the Finance Manager for the Botswana Student Network.

Fred Morton.jpg

Professor Fred Morton

Honorary Secretary of the Executive Board

Professor Morton teaches history at the University of Botswana, specialising in early Tswana-speaking peoples of Botswana and South Africa.  Many of his recent publications can be found here.  Prof. Morton has worked with archaeologists in Botswana and South Africa to develop major stone wall sites (18th century) in southern Botswana and is the creator of the Gaborone Cultural Heritage Tour and the Society’s cultural heritage tour guide course.  He is an American and permanent resident of Botswana.

John Makgala_edited_edited.jpg

Professor John Makgala

Member of the Executive Board

Professor John Makgala is the editor of the Society’s flagship journal, Botswana Notes & Records, which he as guided single-handedly for the last decade purely on a volunteer basis.  A graduate of Cambridge University, Prof Makgala teaches history at the University of Botswana and has published widely in journals and books on current issues and post-independence Botswana.  He has also authored two highly-acclaimed novels set in his hometown of Morwa. 

thapelo otlogets.png

Professor Thapelo Otlogetswe

Member of the Executive Board

Professor Otlogetswe teaches linguistics and lexicography at the University of Botswana and is the foremost expert on corpus linguistics and lexicography of the Setswana language. His research is in lexical computing and corpus lexicography with a focus on Setswana. He has compiled a number of dictionaries including Tlhalosi ya Medi ya Setswana, English-Setswana Dictionary, Oxford English Setswana Setswana English School Dictionary and "Poeletso-medumo ya Setswana: a Setswana Rhyming dictionary". He led the breakthrough translation work on the Setswana Google Search, OpenOffice and Firefox Setswana spell-checkers.

Jeff Ramsey.jpg

Dr. Jeff Ramsay

Member of the Executive Board

He is a noted authority on Botswana 19th century and 20th century history and has published widely in journals, books, and newspapers.  An American by birth and graduate of Boston University, Dr. Ramsay for many years has been a citizen of Botswana. He has served as a school administrator, a teacher of history and social science, a leader in the field of media, and as a public official in media relations with the Government of Botswana, serving for years as press secretary for the Office of the President under presidents Festus Mogae and Ian Khama. 


Tebatso Hule

Member of the Executive Board

Mr. Tebatso Hule is the Senior Employee Relations Manager at Debswana, Gaborone. He is a sports enthusiast and outdoor buff, visiting archaeological and other heritage sites in his spare time. 

bottom of page